Rapid Mass Production (RMP)

is a new feature of us and a unique express service for large and medium-sized series (3 to 30 qm production size). The manufacture of multi-layers takes only 9 working days and double-sided pressings only 7 ! ( Minimum charge: 10% of order value). So far, express services have been mostly in the realm of prototype manufacturers, but RMP is on offer to all customers who recognise the market opportunities resulting from accelerated product launches or speedier completion of orders. The following brief feature describes the manufacturing concept that we have developed to achieve just such a solution:

RMP | PDF

Test us

Apart from technical specialisation, the market in multilayer business is divided largely into two groups: those that manufacture in the largest possible series, and those that produce prototypes and mini series in the fastest possible time in order to encourage the development of new products. Their strengths, however, are also their weaknesses.

The fast producers must remain small in order to be flexible, whereas the volume of orders received by the large producers awakens acquisitive interest from the even larger international manufacturers who, thanks to wage differentials in the world, squeeze profit margins through price dumping until "withdrawal" from the market occurs.

 

 

"Rapid Mass Production"

is an idea born from the wish to combine the speed of production typical of prototype "rush job" specialists with the reasonable costs associated with manufacturing large series.

We based our considerations on the observation that complex production methods can also be provided for "mass", i.e. large amounts rapidly if there are no hitches and production flows smoothly. "Hold-ups" are evident even in state-of-the-art manufacturing due to buffer stocks, i.e. piles of materials waiting for further processing, either because a machine is not yet free or has to be converted.

The problem can be best compared with a relay race, in which a smooth handover of the baton to the next runner is essential. Should the runner receiving the baton lose his rhythm because the handover was poorly executed, the team loses valuable time as his acceleration must begin from a reduced speed. This comparison with a relay race also helps to recognise the solution to the problem.

 

 

"Baton Handover"

In analysing the one realizes that this is something which is never influenced by an external trainer, but that the athlete alone must deal with this critical moment. The receiving athlete, in particular, must adapt with lightening speed to conditions that are never the same, i.e. to the speed, rhythm and movements of the previous runner, as well as to the positions of his opponents.

This situation is therefore solved de-centrally, at the place of action. This is exactly the principle that we have adopted in our production. Although logistics and distribution still determine when an order must be completed, it is the operators in the departments themselves who are responsible for the regulation of a smooth flow of production.

From the first production step, the respective operators promise to complete all RMP orders by a certain date. In this way the operator responsible for the subsequent step can have all of his technical and organisational equipment fully prepared to receive the handover of the order. If he knows the time point, he is also obliged to

 

 

"Promise"

the time of completion by his department so that the following operator can be prepared, and so on. By means of a PPS support system expressly developed for this purpose, communication between operators has been simplified to the extent that organisational work is minimal.

In addition to the organisation, of planning, production was examined to identify time- intensive procedures and ways of improving operational times by means of new machine technology or innovative approaches to old manufacturing concepts. Our goal however, is one day to be able to fill all orders within the above targets and not only a select few.

 

 

Phone: +49 (0) 21 51 - 825 - 1

Expressdienst für Großserien (RMP)

ist ein neuer, bislang einmaliger Expressdienst: Mittlere und große Serien (3 bis 30 qm Fertigungsfläche) werden bei doppelseitigen Platinen in nur 7 und bei Multilayern in 9 AT Fertigungszeit angeboten!. (Ab 10 % Aufschlag auf den Auftragswert). Da solche Expressdienste bislang nur eher von Prototypenfertigern bekannt sind, richtet sich RMP an all jene Kunden, die sich durch beschleunigte Product-Launches oder Auftragsfertigungen bessere Marktchancen ausrechnen. Das von uns entwickelte Fertigungskonzept für solch eine Lösung soll im folgenden Feature kurz vorgestellt werden:

RMP | PDF

Testen Sie uns einfach

In der Leiterplattenbranche ist der Markt, abgesehen von den technischen Spezialisierungen, im wesentlichen in zwei Gruppen aufgesplittet: Solche, die mittlere und große in möglichst großen Serien produzieren und solche, die möglichst schnell Prototypen und Miniserien fertigen, um die Entwicklung von Neuprodukten voranzubringen.

Ihre Stärken sind denn gleichzeitig auch ihre Schwächen: Die Schnellen müssen klein bleiben, um weiterhin flexibel zu sein, die Auftragsvolumina der Grossen weckt die Begehrlichkeiten noch größerer internationaler Multis, die dank des weltweiten Lohngefälles durch Preisdumping die Margen so lange auszehren, bis es zum "Marktaustritt" kommt.

"Rapid Mass Production"

Ist nun die Idee, die Fertigungsgeschwindigkeit des typischen Prototypen "Schnellschuss"-Spezialisten mit der Kostengünstigkeit der Grosserienfertigung zu verbinden.

Ansatzpunkt unserer Überlegungen war die Beobachtung, daß auch "Masse", also große Stückzahlen, schnell eine komplexe Fertigung durchlaufen können, solange der Fertigungsfluss nicht ins Stocken gerät. Solche "Bremsspuren" offenbaren sich selbst in den modernsten Fertigungen in Form von Pufferlagern, Materialanhäufungen also, die auf ihre Weiterverarbeitung warten, weil entweder eine Maschine noch nicht frei oder umgerüstet werden muß.

Die Problemstellung läßt sich am besten mit einem Staffellauf vergleichen, bei dem der Staffelstab reibungslos an den nächsten Läufer weitergegeben werden soll. Kommt der übernehmende Läufer erst einmal aus dem Tritt, weil die Übergabe nicht gut funktioniert, so kostet es das Team wertvolle Zeit, da die Beschleunigung auf die Laufgeschwindigkeit von einem niedrigeren Geschwindigkeitsniveau beginnt.

"Stabübergabe"

Übrigens hilft der Vergleich mit der Staffel auch, die Lösung für das Problem zu erkennen: Bei der Analyse der "Stabübergabe" kommt man zur Erkenntnis, daß diese niemals eine von außen gelenkte Trainersache ist, sondern dieser kritische Moment von den Athleten selbst vor Ort bewältigt werden wird. Vor allem der übernehmende Läufer muß sich kurz vor der Annahme des Stabes auf die niemals gleichen Bedingungen blitzschnell einstellen, d.h. auf die Geschwindigkeit, den Rhythmus und die Bewegung des Vorläufers sowie auf die Positionen des Gegners.

Solch eine Situation wird also dezentral, "vor Ort" gelöst. Genau dieses Prinzip haben wir in unserer Fertigung umgesetzt. Zwar entscheidet noch die Logistik und Vertrieb, bis wann ein Auftrag zu Ende gefertig sein muß, doch sind es die Operatoren selbst in den Abteilungen, die den reibungslosen Fertigungsfluss verantwortlich regeln.

"Versprechen"

Von dem ersten Fertigungsschritt an geben die jeweiligen Operatoren für RMP-Aufträge ein Versprechen ab, wann die Ware fertig produziert ist. So kann sich der Operator des Folgeschritts alles in die Wege leiten, um seine Betriebsmittel technisch und organisa- torisch auf die Übergabe des Auftrags einzurichten. Kennt er den Zeitpunkt, so ist er ebenso verpflichtet, ein "Versprechen" für den Fertigstellungszeitpunkt in seiner Abteilung zu geben, damit sich wiederum die Folgeoperatoren darauf einstellen können usw.

Durch die Unterstützung eines für dieses Prinzip entwickelten PPS-Systems wird die Kommunikation innerhalb der Operatoren so vereinfacht, daß der organisatorische Aufwand äußerst gering bleibt. Zusätzlich zu der Planungsorganisation wurde die Fertigung auf Rüstzeiten - intensive Vorgänge durchsucht, die durch neue Maschinentechnologie oder auch innovatives Überdenken des alten Fertigungskonzeptes zu verbesserten Durchlaufzeiten führten. Ziel unserer Anstrengungen ist jedoch, eines Tages nicht nur ausgewählte, sondern jeden Auftrag innerhalb der oben genannten Zielzeiten zu produzieren.

Telefon: +49 (0) 21 51 - 825 - 1